Woodhouse Trophy

History Of The Woodhouse Trophy

The Woodhouse Trophy run from 2003 - 2020 but unfortunately due to Representative Cricket & Covid the 3 teams involved were struggling to put sides out.

Hopefully in the future we can resurrect the tournament which certainly helped us to bring youngsters into adult cricket. 

The Tony Woodhouse Trophy was set up in 2003 with the idea of Hythe using it to bring youngsters into adult cricket. Lawrence Read at Fawley had been doing it for years and together the two clubs invited Beaulieu to form a Triangular Tournament with the sides playing each other once. 

After a few trial seasons - In 2007 Sway were asked to join and the three sides have continued to compete ever since with many of their youngsters going on to play First XI cricket for their respective clubs. With thanks to Lawrence & Dave at Sway the competition continues to be played in the spirit Tony use to enjoy cricket for over fifty years.

For the first time in 2015 the title was shared between Fawley & Sway after the final game was rained off. Sway won the tournament outright in 2016 but H&D can be pleased with their performances remaining unbeaten throughout.

Sadly 2017 saw Fawley struggle for players which resulted in them withdrawing from the competition. However with Pete Bennet & Dave Marshall keen to keep the competition going we were delighted to announce that Langley Manor will compete in 2018.

After 5 seasons of Sway dominance ~ Hythe & Dibden won the Trophy in 2018 for the first time since 2012 and maintained it in 2019

The 2020 season was a shortened season because of covid however we were delighted to see Fawley come back into the Competition which was won by Sway.

Woodhouse Trophy Final Table 2020

Hythe & Dibden3210111348
Langley Manor312010527


H&D 159-8 (21 pts) (B.Jones 62*, M.Allam 3-12) Beat Fawley 154 a/o (7 pts) (K.Flaxman 70, J.Harris 28, I.Lovell 25, B.Parry 6-26) by 2 wkts

Sway 140-8 (19 pts) (N.Glass 33) Beat H&D 139 a/o (6 pts) (D.Jones 67, T.OCallaghan 3-12)by 2 Wkts

Sway 254-8 (8 pts) (A.Condon 76, T.O'Callaghan 50, T.Burton 31, Drew Fawley 130-8 (6 pts) (J.Hawkins 39, I.Lovell 38, M.Davis 3-27, O.Marshall 2-18)

H&D 178-3 (21 pts) (D.Jones 68*, D.Duell 34*) Beat Langley Manor 176-8 (4 pts) (E.Terris 47, D.Munday 40, T.Garner 34) by 7 wkts

Sway 147-6 (20 pts) (O.Marshall 52*, A.Condon 26, T.Burton 23, M.Garner 2-25) Beat Langley Manor 146 a/o (5 pts) (E.Terris 28, J.Terris 27*, N.Glass 2-9) by 4 wkts

Langley Manor 227 a/o (18 pts) (E.Terris 90, J.Brown 67*, I.Lovell 3-20) Beat Fawley 217-3 (8 pts) (I.Lovell 50*, R.Thomas 50*, R.Smith 50*)by 10 runs

Previous Winners

2020- Sway
2019, 2018- Hythe & Dibden
2017,2016- Sway
2015- Fawley & Sway Tie
2014,13- Sway
2012,11,10- Hythe & Dibden
2009- Sway
2008- Fawley
2007- Sway
2006 - Fawley
2005, 04 - Hythe & Dibden
2003- Beaulieu

Rules of The Competition

•Rules will be the same as normal Sunday Friendly Games with a 2.30 start, 5pm tea and 20 overs in the last hour of play.

•Teams must consist of at least 6 colts (Under 17 as per New Forest Colts League)

•No player who regularly plays in the County Divisions 1-4 will be allowed to play in the competition excluding colts (U17's & below). An exception to this would be the club coach however he must bat 7 or below.

•No bowler to bowl more than 8 overs in the game to enable more people to participate.

•A Winning Side will pick up 12 points

•Bonus points for Batting will be achieved at 100-125-150-175-200.

•For sides batting second winning with wickets in hand. A point will be added (max 5 batting in total) for every 2 wickets in hand

•Bonus Points for Bowling will be achieved at 2-4-6-8 and 10 wickets.

•If a game is postponed because of the weather both sides will collect 6 points.

•If a game is stopped and cannot be finished then bonus points will count. 

Tony Woodhouse sadly passed away in 2011 after serving Hythe & Dibden for over fifty years. Through the 80’s Hythe Sunday 2nd XI consisted of Tony, Alan Wiltshire and 9 colts on most weekends. Alan & Tony never complained yet a lot of the higher statesman in the club thought of disbanding the team following several heavy defeats and some objections from the opponents.

Yet Tony & Alan ignored the complaints and many of the players today benefited from those years of cricket. Tony never complained – he was happy fielding in the slips and watching the young lads chase after his bowling efforts. If they dropped a catch off his bowling, he use to shout ‘ never mind you’ll catch the next one’.

'Tony Woodhouse a True Hythe Legend'

We thank Sway, Fawley & Langley Manor for keeping his memory alive.